Windmühlheuriger

open, daily (except on mondays) from 11 a.m.

A place for passion

The Kalvarienberg is a place where sun, wind and wine meet. It's a place of simplicity, tradition and pride. A source of great ideas, a touchstone of their feasibility. Discover a haven of tranquility and inspiration – and rediscover happiness!

An architectural bridge between tradition and modernism: established in 1960 and refurbished in 2010 the Windmühlheuriger follows its legacy as a typical Lower Austrian wine tavern.

There is barely a table from which the guest cannot gaze out onto the gentle vastness of Retz's countryside. Add to this a romantic outdoor terrace with garden atmosphere for balmy evenings beneath the grape vines and a traditional "Bauernstüberl" as a comfortable retreat.

Opening Hours
Windmühlheuriger © Alexander Schleissing

Lower Austrian hospitality

Lovingly prepared dishes, served on a plate, platter or a good old wooden board. Our menu follows the customary obligation of a Wine Quarter "Heuriger" to serve local, natural and exclusive cold food according to traditional recipes.

We serve a delicious variety of regional pork specialties – from smoked meat and tender salt meat to blood sausage, bacon and „Grammeln“ (pork cracklings). Delicacies such as our smoked beef tongue or aromatic country ham are on hand as well as fitness platters for the more health conscious, various salads and a fragrant selection of fine cheeses.

Meet the wine.

The fine-grained exoticism of our "Müllerin", the depth of our "Rote Mühle" (Red Mill) - or perhaps a taste of the regions most popular Grüner Veltliner: our Weinviertel DAC. Enjoy wines made from the experience of the Bergmann winery (and from the Weinviertel sun) - the Windmühlheuriger has them all.

For those who prefer a more secluded tasting atmosphere, our vinotheque in the foundation of the mill is a haven for relaxed tasting. We also welcome you in our winery's elegant tasting room.

Celebrate with us

Your private celebration with a wine tasting in an intimate atmosphere, incentive events for your business, your personal break in the shade of the windmill: As a reliable partner for businesses, agencies and travel groups, we will do our best to fulfill your wishes.

Windmühlheuriger Retz

Seating Capacity:

  • Panorama room: 90 People
  • "Stüberl" (parlor): 25 People
  • Garden: 100 People

Minimum number of participants for wine tastings in the vinotheque is 6 people.

Please contacts us
Windmühlheuriger Retz

Seating Capacity:

  • Panorama room: 90 People
  • "Stüberl" (parlor): 25 People
  • Garden: 100 People

Minimum number of participants for wine tastings in the vinotheque is 6 people.

Please contacts us

Der Windmühlheurige

Leidenschaft im Schatten der Mühle

Der Kalvarienberg: Ort der Begegnung von Sonne, Wind und Wein, von Menschen und Mächten, von Euphorie und Enthusiasmus. Jahrhunderten verbunden. Ursprung großer Ideen, Prüfstein ihrer Machbarkeit. Ruhepol und Stätte der Inspiration – zur Wiederfindung des Glücks.

Ein architektonischer Brückenschlag zwischen Tradition und Moderne: seit 1960 wird am Fuße der Retzer Windmühle gut gegessen und gern getrunken. Heute erwartet unsere Gäste hier ein zeitlos warmes wie lichtes Heurigenambiente aus Holz, Sandstein und Glas.

Kaum ein Tisch, an dem sich dem Gast nicht der Blick auf die sonnige Weite des Retzer Landes erschließt. Dazu ein romantischer Gastgarten für laue Abende unter wildem Wein – und ein traditionelles Bauernstüberl als gemütlicher Rückzugsort.

Öffnungszeiten
Windmühlheuriger © Alexander Schleissing

Beste Retzer Gastlichkeit

Mit Liebe zubereitete Speisen, kredenzt auf Teller, Platte oder auf dem guten alten Holzbrett – unsere Karte folgt der traditionellen Verpflichtung eines Weinviertler Heurigen zu lokaler, natürlicher und ausschließlich kalter Küche nach althergebrachten Rezepten.

Wir servieren eine köstliche Vielfalt an Spezialitäten vom Hausschwein – von rauchigem G'selchten über zartes Surfleisch bis hin zu Blutwurst, Speck und Grammeln. Delikatessen wie unsere geräucherte Rindszunge oder den aromatischen Weinviertler Prosciutto halten wir ebenso bereit wie Fitnessplatten für Ernährungsbewusste, diverse Salate und eine duftende Auswahl feinster Käsesorten.

Dem Wein begegnen

Die feinfruchtige Exotik unserer Müllerin, die dunkle Tiefe unserer Roten Mühle – oder doch lieber die reinste Form des Grünen Veltliners in einem Glas Weinviertel DAC? Der Windmühlheurige hat sie alle – die ganze Palette sonnenverwöhnter Weine aus dem Hause Bergmann.

Wer lieber in Ruhe verkosten möchte, der zieht sich in die Vinothek im Fundament der Mühle zurück oder bucht den eleganten Kostraum unseres Weinguts. Und wer so lange nicht warten will, findet alle Weine auch zur Online-Bestellung, ganz bequem in unserem Shop...

Unsere Weine im Shop

Bei uns feiern ist mit uns feiern

Ihre private Feier mit Weinverkostung im kleinen Kreis, Ihre ganz persönliche Pause im Schatten der Windmühle. Als verlässlicher Partner für Firmen, Agenturen und Reisegruppen geben wir unser Bestes, Ihre Wünsche zu erfüllen.

Windmühlheuriger Retz

Platzkapazitäten:

  • Panoramaraum: 90 Personen
  • Stüberl: 25 Personen
  • Garten: 100 Personen

Weinverkostungen in der Vinothek organisieren wir ab 6 kostfreudigen TeilnehmerInnen.

Sprechen Sie mit uns
Windmühlheuriger Retz

Platzkapazitäten:

  • Panoramaraum: 90 Personen
  • Stüberl: 25 Personen
  • Garten: 100 Personen

Weinverkostungen in der Vinothek organisieren wir ab 6 kostfreudigen TeilnehmerInnen.

Sprechen Sie mit uns